EaP transport ministers agree to step up implementation of TEN-T action plan

European Union transport ministers met with their counterparts from the six Eastern Partnership (EaP) countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine) in Luxembourg on June 6 to discuss cooperation in transport and logistics, with special emphasis on the improvement of transport connections between the EU and the Eastern Partnership countries.

In a joint declaration, the EU and the EaP reiterated their shared commitment to providing opportunities and delivering tangible results for citizens across the EaP region through improved transport connectivity. The main topics of discussion were road safety and infrastructure, including investments linked to the extended trans-European transport network (TEN-T).

In the declaration, all sides agreed to endeavour to implement the TEN-T Investment Action Plan with the goal to complete the extended core TEN-T network by 2030 as well as to promote digitalisation and decarbonisation of transport within the framework of the EU neighbourhood policy. Financial support from the EU’s External Investment Plan, in line with the applicable rules and within the limits available, could be used to leverage loans from European and international financial institutions in the context of the implementation of the Indicative TEN-T Investment Action Plan.